Teal Dragon Quilts

A world of Quilts and Dragons!

MQM Flames

on March 14, 2016
My try at flames on paper

My try at flames on paper.

It’s been a while since I drew this, and looking at it, it doesn’t look too bad.  It has some flam-ish feel.  I wrote some notes at the top.  I will share.

  • Have a base line
  • Alternate between high and low
  • Curve taller flame around lower ones
  • Dance to right and left?(no idea)  Maybe make the curves or jags deep?
  • Jagged, may make it more flame-ish
  • Try curve then jagged on opposite side

I haven’t tried it on fabric.  Tho, several years ago I did make a quilt for a nephew that had quilted flames. I remember them being bigger, thicker and more meandering than these.  Don’t remember how I stitched them.

I was contemplating the drawing, trying to think what to write next and thought the flames could be tweaked to be sea weed, eh?

This morning I read my “violin hack” blog, A Way to Stop Underestimating Yourself.  Noa writes about ways and studies to improve your practice and performance.  The question, can you achieve greatness if you work hard?  Correct answer is yes.  But to truly believe that is a challenge.  Study shows it may depend on what type characters you read about as a child.  My takeaway from this is in order to believe in ourselves, we have to see people we think as successfull, experience trials and tribulations and how they overcame them.

So my plan here is to share with you my struggles in quilting.  I feel like everyone is a better quilter than me.  (I’m not trying to poor mouth.)  But you know what?  That’s ok.  I’m where I am and I am improving my skills.  Just like exercise, I don’t have to be faster or stronger than anyone.  Just show up and move!  If you feel like me, the same is true for you.  And you know, my work and your work are better than we think.  Just give it a few months and you will look at it and go “I did that?!”  Yep, you did!

God Bless!

13 responses to “MQM Flames

  1. It looks good! Flames can be very hard to draw!

  2. Written anything new yet? Do you have a secret site you aren’t sharing with us! =P lol

  3. I think we always feel like others are better than us. I struggle with that same idea with my writing.

  4. How are your flames coming along? I was curious about this one ^_^

    • Teal Dragon says:

      Thanks for asking, but they are on hold. It’s concert season and I am focused on bringing the flames out of my fiddle! haha! Not to worry, last two concerts of the season are coming up and I will be stitching flames again…

  5. Far better than I can draw! 😉

    • Teal Dragon says:

      Thank you. From my own experience, my drawing is better than I think it is. Hope that doesn’t sound egotistical. After I first draw something, or quilt a motif, my thoughts are very negative towards it. Give it a few months and I’ve forgotten the flaws that happened in the process….hope that makes sense…

Leave a Reply

QuiltingNeeds.com

Where the Frugal Widow quilts, sews, cooks and lives

Solwhovian

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Rhonda Dort

..... Mostly about things I create...

Are You Thrilled

because the story must be told

Felicia's World

Quilts, Craft, Create

stuff southern people like

all manner of dixie delicacies and doo-dads

The Spirit of the Goddess

releasing the power of words

Scott Nagele

Read, write, and keep your day job

The Lonely Author

A quiet corner for writers to get inspired one word at a time.

simplymesmc.wordpress.com/

A StoRy of LiFe and MOre

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

VocareMentor.com

Walk With the Wise and Become Wise - Prov. 13:20

Angie Does Until She Doesn't

Library girl, knitting ninja, and lover of dogs searching for the simple life one seashell at a time.

Mindless Delights

Crocheting my life away one stitch at a time.

