Teal Dragon Quilts

A world of Quilts and Dragons!

TFK Double Needle

on March 8, 2016
Double Needle

Double Needle

I’ve finally figured out my problem.  I have been trying to work out of the “workbooks”.  I don’t think they are made for “self study”.  I have decided to start with the manual and work my way thru.  Just like I used to do with the old software manuals.  Already, I have found my joy and progressed thru the manual to page 46.  True, most of it I already knew from setting up my machine.  Some, like lubricating the thread, I skipped.  I’ll save that for when I have problems with thread.  Oh happy day!

Doesn't this remind you of a Barbie Doll case? You know a place for Barbie, her clothes and accessories? It opened up and could be used as a "closet" during play?

Doesn’t this remind you of a Barbie Doll case? You know a place for Barbie, her clothes and accessories? It opened up and could be used as a “closet” during play?

One corner of my studio is nice and neat.  This is it.  I’m working on the rest.  More on THAT Wednesday! I checked out a couple of videos about using the double needle.  Nancy’s Notions seemed to be the best one.  Her thread set up was different than mine, but it gave me an idea of what to expect.  So the next question is, why?  Why would you want to use 2 needles.  From the little I read, it’s great for hems.  But also decorative stitching!

My favorite!

My favorite!

So let’s play!  First you will need a piece of fabric, stabilizer, a double needle and two different threads.  My manual suggested a manual needle threader, nah!  Easier to push thread thru needle.  Oh and the foot needs to be one that allows for a zigzag stitch.

Two Threads mounted on the spool pins

Two Threads mounted on the spool pins

Here’s the tricky part, you need to take the two threads and thread them together thru the machine.  One thread goes in front of the tension disc and the other goes behind the tension disc.  (I had always wondered why it didn’t matter about the side the thread goes on!)  This is the tricky part.  My manual says center spool goes in front.  Well my brain is wired different than everybody else.  The manual’s front is my back.  Thread wouldn’t pull thru at the needles. Maybe the foot was down, I really don’t remember.  But I switched the way the threads went thru the tension disc and worked like a charm!

Thread Tension Disc

Thread Tension Disc

Then you guide them thru the thread clamp and thread the needles!  You are ready to sew!

Needles Threaded

Needles Threaded

I tried a few stitches and found my favorite.  I may have to try this out on quilting design or machine appliqué.  Maybe even sewing down a binding by machine?  To set this up didn’t take any more effort than normal.

Enjoy the play!

Stitching Straight stitch Favorite Stitch 2

Overview Functions Alphabets is where I stopped in the manual.  I think this will be a much better way to learn my machine and retain the knowledge!  Thanks for reading.

God Bless!

Leave a Reply

QuiltingNeeds.com

Where the Frugal Widow quilts, sews, cooks and lives

Solwhovian

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Rhonda Dort

..... Mostly about things I create...

Are You Thrilled

because the story must be told

Felicia's World

Quilts, Craft, Create

stuff southern people like

all manner of dixie delicacies and doo-dads

The Spirit of the Goddess

releasing the power of words

Scott Nagele

Read, write, and keep your day job

The Lonely Author

A quiet corner for writers to get inspired one word at a time.

SimplymeSMC

A StoRy of LiFe and MOre

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

VocareMentor.com

Walk With the Wise and Become Wise - Prov. 13:20

Angie Does Until She Doesn't

Library girl, knitting ninja, and lover of dogs searching for the simple life one seashell at a time.

Mindless Delights

Crocheting my life away one stitch at a time.

