Teal Dragon Quilts

A world of Quilts and Dragons!

TFK Pattern Begin and End

on February 23, 2016

I figured out my technical difficulties, of course it’s my issue, not the machine’s or the workbook’s.  I’m still not happy with the workbook.  I think it leaves way too much out.  Which is fine when a teacher is teaching the course, but what about when you go home, or you try it on your own….Getting off my soap box now.

Flash Drive for stitches. I have to download some stitches and then upload to the sewing machine….

Flash Drive for stitches. I have to download some stitches and then upload to the sewing machine….

Then, today I discovered where the Satin Stitch Heart stitch is.  AFTER, I’ve been thru the lessons…..I used a pretty little flower instead.

Pretty Little Flower Stitch

Pretty Little Flower Stitch

Pattern begin is automatic.  When you start stitching the pattern begin icon pops up on the screen.  If you stop stitching in the middle of the pattern and move your fabric, the machine will pick up where the stitches stopped.  To start at the beginning of the pattern, touch the pattern begin icon.

Pattern Begin is the Triangle with the dash at the top.

Pattern Begin is the Triangle with the dash at the top.

With this flower pattern you can watch the screen and see where the pattern begins and ends, and if you go slow enough you can catch it manually.  BUT, if you like to sew faster or you have a more complex stitch pattern, press the pattern end button.  (Remember it is on the bottom left of the machine. One of the 6 black buttons that you can acutally push.)  It’s got the dash at the bottom of the triangle.  The machine will stop automatically at the end of the pattern.  If you are using the foot pedal, keep it pressed down until the machine stops.  If you use the Start/Stop button, you don’t have to worry about the pedal.

There’s a handy dandy little repeat icon that lets you repeat the stitch pattern up to 9 times.

Handy dandy Pattern repeat Icon

Handy dandy Pattern repeat Icon

You can set it up and let the machine go.  The machine keeps track of the repeats.  You increase the repeats by touching the icon.  There is also the mirror image icons.  Mirror image left and right, AND mirror image up and down.  Pretty cool. Don’t know what I would use this for other than playing, but it’s pretty cool.

Mirror Image Left and Right

Mirror Image Left and Right

Mirror Image Up and Down

Mirror Image Up and Down

You could spend days trying out the different stitches.  It might make some cool quilting designs.  I may have to revisit this technique on  a MQM post!

Have you tried any new stitches?

God Bless!

 

2 responses to “TFK Pattern Begin and End

  1. Linda says:

    Why does the stitch out not look like a flower? I can see the flower on the screen of the machine but the stitch out looks like a wonky buttonhole. I like the up/down design.

    • Teal Dragon says:

      I’m guessing I messed with the stitch width before I sewed and after I took the picture. I like the up/down design too. I’m thinking I’ll use it as a quilting motif….

Leave a Reply

QuiltingNeeds.com

Where the Frugal Widow quilts, sews, cooks and lives

Solwhovian

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Rhonda Dort

..... Mostly about things I create...

Are You Thrilled

because the story must be told

Felicia's World

Quilts, Craft, Create

stuff southern people like

all manner of dixie delicacies and doo-dads

The Spirit of the Goddess

releasing the power of words

Scott Nagele

Read, write, and keep your day job

The Lonely Author

A quiet corner for writers to get inspired one word at a time.

SimplymeSMC

A StoRy of LiFe and MOre

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

VocareMentor.com

Walk With the Wise and Become Wise - Prov. 13:20

Angie Does Until She Doesn't

Library girl, knitting ninja, and lover of dogs searching for the simple life one seashell at a time.

Mindless Delights

Crocheting my life away one stitch at a time.

