Teal Dragon Quilts

A world of Quilts and Dragons!

MQM Paisleys

on February 22, 2016
Paisley Stencil

Paisley Stencil

Regretfully, I do not have a quilt completed with the Paisley Motif.  I have loved the Paisley design since the 60’s when my mother made my brother a Paisley shirt.  I thought it was the coolest thing!   I remember it being maroon with bright colored paisleys.  If there is fabric with a paisley motif, chances are I will purchase some of that fabric!

I have struggled getting my quilting motif to get the paisley “look”.  I’ve been drawing it out, I still need to practice it, but I think it’s getting closer to what I want.  So I took this stencil, even though it is a HUGE stencil and traced it out.  When drawing I noticed the curl of the tail and “fatness” of the head.  This Louisiana gal sees SHRIMP!  And in my practice drawing, that is what came out…

Shrimpy feel.

Shrimpy feel.

I then noticed that the “tail” is lower than the head.  Also, I was drawing my heads too narrow.  Of course I want this a continuous line for free motion.  Trying to make the paisley continuous I just got frustrated and was listening to the tv.  (my husband had it on some political “news”, which I get frustrated with.)  So I just started doodling, like I was listening to a boring lecture.  I started echoing the paisley.  Wait, that looks better!

Paisley with Echo

Paisley with Echo

I really like the one on the left.

The one on the left

The one on the left

So now I know where to start my “real” practice of this motif.  It is the one I’ve picked for my quilting challenge in my bee.  Maybe in a week or two, I will have the charity quilt to show with this motif!

Do you have any favorite motifs?  God Bless!

Leave a Reply

QuiltingNeeds.com

Where the Frugal Widow quilts, sews, cooks and lives

Solwhovian

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Rhonda Dort

..... Mostly about things I create...

Are You Thrilled

because the story must be told

Felicia's World

Quilts, Craft, Create

stuff southern people like

all manner of dixie delicacies and doo-dads

The Spirit of the Goddess

releasing the power of words

Scott Nagele

Read, write, and keep your day job

The Lonely Author

A quiet corner for writers to get inspired one word at a time.

simplymesmc.wordpress.com/

A StoRy of LiFe and MOre

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

VocareMentor.com

Walk With the Wise and Become Wise - Prov. 13:20

Angie Does Until She Doesn't

Library girl, knitting ninja, and lover of dogs searching for the simple life one seashell at a time.

Mindless Delights

Crocheting my life away one stitch at a time.

