Teal Dragon Quilts

A world of Quilts and Dragons!

MQM Spirals

on February 8, 2016
Spirals are EASY!

Spirals are EASY!

Did you have fun with the waves?  Next up are spirals.  It is very similar to the waves.  Start from left, or right, spiral in like the waves, but make more circles, being sure to leave room to spiral out, then on to the next.

One Spiral

One Spiral

You can make them big or small.  I did find they looked more “professional” the straighter the circles.  Pay attention to the needle path and don’t let it warble all over the place.

Little bit steadier spiral, maybe "tighter" is the word I'm looking for, the design not your shoulders!

Little bit steadier spiral, maybe “tighter” is the word I’m looking for, the design not your shoulders!

I find, to me that a lot of my quilting motifs take on a “grinch” type feel, cartoonish, caricature looking.  Learning this tip, I think I may be able to fix that.  Mary, Mary quite contrary, how does your needle sew?  Steady and straight with tiny little stitches all in a row.  Well that’s the idea anyway.  Between you and me, they are not ALWAYS so straight….Galloping horse gallops by.

The spiral is a fast and easy motif.  I used in the Batik challenge and had the top done in a little over an hour.  It’s fun and once you get the motion down, it’s a no brainer.

Done! Next step Binding.

Done! Next step Binding.

Would be a good one to put on your favorite tunes.  That, by the way is how I started machine quilting.  I took a couple of classes, then set up my machine, plugged my iPod into my ears and away I went.  Trust me, if you are struggling, you need something to get that right side of the brain working.  That left side is just TOO critical!

Another tip for you is to find the way it’s easier for your to go.  Up or Down.  I find it easier to start at the bottom and work my way to the top.  I only sew about 2 hand widths left and right, all the way to the top, tie off and go back down to the bottom.  When I reach the center of the quilt, I turn the quilt around and repeat the process to the center.

Hope this helps you get started and silences that little voice.  If you have any quilting tips I would love to hear/read them.

God Bless!

 

Leave a Reply

QuiltingNeeds.com

Where the Frugal Widow quilts, sews, cooks and lives

Solwhovian

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Rhonda Dort

..... Mostly about things I create...

Are You Thrilled

because the story must be told

Felicia's World

Quilts, Craft, Create

stuff southern people like

all manner of dixie delicacies and doo-dads

The Spirit of the Goddess

releasing the power of words

Scott Nagele

Read, write, and keep your day job

The Lonely Author

A quiet corner for writers to get inspired one word at a time.

SimplymeSMC

A StoRy of LiFe and MOre

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

VocareMentor.com

Walk With the Wise and Become Wise - Prov. 13:20

Angie Does Until She Doesn't

Library girl, knitting ninja, and lover of dogs searching for the simple life one seashell at a time.

Mindless Delights

Crocheting my life away one stitch at a time.

