Teal Dragon Quilts

A world of Quilts and Dragons!

TaB Time Management

on February 4, 2016

This week I have tried to time myself on the computer.  I’ve tried to stick to the task at hand, and not get pulled into FB posts.  It is a challenge.  I love FB, I love the games on FB, I love reading my friends posts, commenting and writing my own status updates….But sometimes I just need to go in post on the Guild group or page and get out, move on to the next task….Something inside me screams, WAIT, check the notifications, you have 50!  If I listen to this little voice, then 2 hours later, I am wondering where my time went, ha!

Isn’t it said somewhere that knowing is half the battle?  I have been able to post and get out of Facebook with out getting bogged down.  My secret?  Set up a time to check FB and the notifications.  Usually while I’m eating lunch or breakfast.

I did search time management tips.  I found one new thought.  The reason time management systems don’t work is because there is Real time…60 seconds in a minute, 60 minutes in an hour and 24 hours in a day….and there is the time you feel…sometimes it goes fast and others it goes slow.  I’m not sure I understand the significance of this.  When I am focused on the now and my task, time flies, but I’m able to get my task done in the allotted time or sooner.

Personally, I think time management systems fail, because they are geared toward a particular type of person.  If you fit that type, it works, if you don’t, you stop following the program and of course it stops working….The best thing for me is knowing where I spend my time.  Then deciding to keep spending it there or choose to something else.  My personality, likes breaks.  I get more done in 15 minute segments than I ever could in a 3 hour time slot.  I figured this out when I was practicing 6 to 8 hours a day.  I could practice for about 20 minutes, then I would need a break for a cigarette.  Yep, back in the day, I was a chain smoker.  I had to time myself between cigs and 20 minutes was about all I could last.  I had it bad.  Quitting was the hardest thing I have ever done, and I still miss them after having quit longer than I smoked.

Flylady.net opened a whole new world to me.  Declutter and clean your house in 15 minute intervals.  It worked.  Again, here is that small amount of time and accomplishing a lot in that small amount of time.  The key is focus and NO distractions.

Focus is easy, no distractions seems impossible with a husband who is home and a dog that doesn’t have his own door.  We are working on it!

God Bless!

3 responses to “TaB Time Management

  1. Yup, yup, and yup!

    I’m not a FB person but I have plenty to distract me and I am very good at it ^_^

    I have used this StayFocusd on Chrome and it helped when I had to hit a deadline and kept playing

Leave a Reply

QuiltingNeeds.com

Where the Frugal Widow quilts, sews, cooks and lives

Solwhovian

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Rhonda Dort

..... Mostly about things I create...

Are You Thrilled

because the story must be told

Felicia's World

Quilts, Craft, Create

stuff southern people like

all manner of dixie delicacies and doo-dads

The Spirit of the Goddess

releasing the power of words

Scott Nagele

Read, write, and keep your day job

The Lonely Author

A quiet corner for writers to get inspired one word at a time.

SimplymeSMC

A StoRy of LiFe and MOre

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

VocareMentor.com

Walk With the Wise and Become Wise - Prov. 13:20

Angie Does Until She Doesn't

Library girl, knitting ninja, and lover of dogs searching for the simple life one seashell at a time.

Mindless Delights

Crocheting my life away one stitch at a time.

