Teal Dragon Quilts

A world of Quilts and Dragons!

WAYWO Charity Quilts

on February 3, 2016
12 String Pieced blocks for a Charity Quilt

12 String Pieced blocks for a Charity Quilt

Last week, my husband and I took a mini vacation.  2 nights and 3 days on a goat farm.  People who know me are going, Really?  You, on a farm?  Well, my husband SAID I would not have to “do” anything.  I could take my machine and puppy and sew while he did whatever.  He went to shoot a deer so we would have meat for the year.  We still have some from last kill, but not much.  I’m not happy with him doing this, but I am a carnivore and when I think about it,(I try not to) this is better than a slaughter house.  So I accept it.

I loaded up the truck, took along my charity quilt box

Strips, bobbins, paper and completed blocks, phone book

Strips, bobbins, paper and completed blocks, phone book

and sewing machine.  We drove up the drive and there were deer and antelope  running wild!  They were beautiful and I was sad.  We get to the house and there are cats everywhere.  You have to understand, my 70 pound puppy kills cats.  I am so worried, but the hosts and Don assure me the cats are tough and I need to worry more about Freckles getting hurt.  No cats were harmed this trip and Freckles escaped unscathed.  The owners had 2 dogs, a lab and a basset hound.  Both sweet as could be.  Freckles was a little afraid, but we managed fine.

Phone Book Pages cut to 8 and a quarter Empty Bobbins

Paper and bobbins

Paper, bobbins and strips is all you need.

Don got up and went hunting the next day.  I sewed blocks for my charity quilt.  They are string pieced blocks which require no brain power.  Just have to be sure the paper is covered and make sure the strips are pressed flat. Between going outside with Freckles to watch the goats…the baby goats were so cute!  There was one that was less than a day old…I got 12 blocks done. I had 11 done already.  6 more and I will have enough for a top.

On charity quilts, I empty bobbins, using partially filled bobbins for top and bottom thread.  I emptied SIX bobbins!  yea!  I’m not buying anymore bobbins.  I have plenty.

We came back home on the next day, all of us having wonderful memories of the goat farm.  This weekend, besides catching up on blog posts, I plan to quilt the Batik Challenge.  I need it for MQM when I show spirals.  Speaking of quilting, before we left I set up my basting table and basted the Batik challenge.Basting Table Batik Challenge Divided bating  I cut a king size bat into 4 equal parts.  Works great for smaller tops.  Also, the leftover batting from the Batik challenge I’ve set aside to measure and eventually use the basting tape to put together to use in a charity quilt.

This will be published on Wednesday, the day I go to bee.  I will have the Disappearing 4 patch done by then.  Hoping to have completed the Batik Challenge by then, too….A month early!

Don’t you just love it when a plan comes together?!

God bless!

Leave a Reply

QuiltingNeeds.com

Where the Frugal Widow quilts, sews, cooks and lives

Solwhovian

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Rhonda Dort

..... Mostly about things I create...

Are You Thrilled

because the story must be told

Felicia's World

Quilts, Craft, Create

stuff southern people like

all manner of dixie delicacies and doo-dads

The Spirit of the Goddess

releasing the power of words

Scott Nagele

Read, write, and keep your day job

The Lonely Author

A quiet corner for writers to get inspired one word at a time.

simplymesmc.wordpress.com/

A StoRy of LiFe and MOre

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

VocareMentor.com

Walk With the Wise and Become Wise - Prov. 13:20

Angie Does Until She Doesn't

Library girl, knitting ninja, and lover of dogs searching for the simple life one seashell at a time.

Mindless Delights

Crocheting my life away one stitch at a time.

