Teal Dragon Quilts

A world of Quilts and Dragons!

FFF Technology

on January 29, 2016

The word for today is TECHNOLOGY.  Why, because I was struggling with it today.  grrrrr.  Technology is grand when it works and not so much when it doesn’t.  Music was my first love, computers were my second.  I do have an Associate Degree in Computer Tech.  The teachers taught us how to read and understand the manuals.  I think this is why I’m a “learn on my own” type.

I remember being so afraid I would break something, or crash the system.  Over time that fear went away.  I have crashed several systems in my day, but I’ve also been able to bring them back up to where they were.  I miss being a computer operator, it was one of my favorite jobs.  It was a lot of processes and that is why I loved it so much.

Today my printer would not talk with my laptop.  I just wanted one little document to print.  And then to connect to a different network, it was so archaic.  Scroll thru the letters to pick each one?  Give me a break.  Well, with my husband’s help we got it figured out.  Technology requires a lot of patience!  I think more than any other field, except maybe parenting.  I get frustrated with practice, I get aggravated with sewing, but Technology, I get just plain angry.  I mean, you know what you want it to do.  You think you know how to make it happen and wham, nope that doesn’t work.  So back to the drawing board.  Repeat, repeat, and repeat.  Come to find out, it’s some little switch that needed to be in a certain position.

So, if I had read all the details, and looked at every part, I would have seen this and avoided ALL the hassle.  To me that is what is so frustrating.  It’s my error.  User Error.  Computers rarely mess up with out the aid of humans.  That’s why I love them.  They do exactly what you say, when you say.  The problem is saying EXACTLY what you want done and when.

Have you had any computer issues, lately?

God Bless!

2 responses to “FFF Technology

  1. Linda S. says:

    I had a computer tech guy at my house for most of the day because, for no apparent reason, my computer stopped talking to the scanner part of my printer.

    I had followed the troubleshooting steps ( turn off, wait 10 seconds, turn on; unplug and do the same, reinstall the device, hold breath for two minutes, stand on one foot while extending arms, etc) and got it to work. But, the next time I booted up, computer was not talking to the scanner. Hence the computer guy. He got it to work first try, but then I said to restart the computer and Bamm, computer not talking to scanner.

    Now it was war. He tried everything he could think of, but at the end of the day, we came to conclusion that updates to operating system have lost the drivers to the printer and the printer is no longer supported by its manufacturer, i e, planned obsolescence. So now I have to buy a new printer, because while the printer part works great, I use the scanner a lot. I save quilting patterns, recipes, magazine articles etc, all the stuff you used to either rip out and file or copy and file.

    Technology is good, but maybe manufacturers should put an expiration date on their devices.

Leave a Reply

QuiltingNeeds.com

Where the Frugal Widow quilts, sews, cooks and lives

Solwhovian

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Rhonda Dort

..... Mostly about things I create...

Are You Thrilled

because the story must be told

Felicia's World

Quilts, Craft, Create

stuff southern people like

all manner of dixie delicacies and doo-dads

The Spirit of the Goddess

releasing the power of words

Scott Nagele

Read, write, and keep your day job

The Lonely Author

A quiet corner for writers to get inspired one word at a time.

simplymesmc.wordpress.com/

A StoRy of LiFe and MOre

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

VocareMentor.com

Walk With the Wise and Become Wise - Prov. 13:20

Angie Does Until She Doesn't

Library girl, knitting ninja, and lover of dogs searching for the simple life one seashell at a time.

Mindless Delights

Crocheting my life away one stitch at a time.

