Teal Dragon Quilts

A world of Quilts and Dragons!

TFK Zipper

on January 26, 2016
Zipper Foot I used the Bernina 4D, 2, 4" x 8" rectangles of fabric, 7" zipper

Zipper Foot I used the Bernina 4D, 2 4 x 8 rectangles of fabric, 7″ zipper

Ooooo, I get frustrated with this workbook.  So I used my Bernina Manual along with the workbook.  I was able to understand a little better.  The manual by itself leaves a lot of questions for someone who knows nothing about sewing.  Just the preparation…close seam to the zipper beginning? uh?  OH!  They mean to sew a seam to where the zipper top will be.(got that from the workbook)  As well as, the 3/4″ seam allowance.

So here’s what you do.  Sew a 3/4″ seam about 2 inches, Secure the stitches, backtack or sew back over the stitches. (about 3 stitches).  Use the basting stitch (it’s a choice in the Straight Stitch Family) or increase the stitch length.  I did this because I was done with the project when I discovered the basting stitch. ha!  “Baste” the rest of the way down the fabric.  Press the seam open.

Sew 2" inches in then baste rest of way down fabric.

Sew 2″ inches in then baste rest of way down fabric.

Now here is where there is a big difference in instruction between the two books.  Align the zipper with the seam and pin or baste to seam allowances only.  The manual just says to pin or baste the zipper in place so that the fabric folded edges meet over the center of the zipper. uh?  The workbook doesn’t say anything about moving the needle position and when I tried to sew, my Brigetta, God bless her wouldn’t let me.  Good thing, I would have broken a needle.  So then I switched to the manual and dropped the workbook like a hot potato!

Press Seam open and align zipper to seam.

Press Seam open and align zipper to seam.

Move needle position to right.  ????  Took me forever to find the needle position control  I knew it was there.  It is on the right at the bottom.  Left and right arrows.

Left and right arrows move the needle either L or R.

Left and right arrows move the needle either L or R.

 

 

 

 

Start at top left position, sew down to base of zipper, needle down, lift foot turn project, sew across base of zipper, turn project, sew back up to top.

Wow! A zipper.  Once I knew the jargon and what they were trying to tell me, easy peasey.

Zipper!

Zipper!

Hope you enjoy this foreign language we are learning…Bernina, or Seamstress.

God Bless!

Leave a Reply

QuiltingNeeds.com

Where the Frugal Widow quilts, sews, cooks and lives

Solwhovian

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Rhonda Dort

..... Mostly about things I create...

Are You Thrilled

because the story must be told

Felicia's World

Quilts, Craft, Create

stuff southern people like

all manner of dixie delicacies and doo-dads

The Spirit of the Goddess

releasing the power of words

Scott Nagele

Read, write, and keep your day job

The Lonely Author

A quiet corner for writers to get inspired one word at a time.

simplymesmc.wordpress.com/

A StoRy of LiFe and MOre

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

VocareMentor.com

Walk With the Wise and Become Wise - Prov. 13:20

Angie Does Until She Doesn't

Library girl, knitting ninja, and lover of dogs searching for the simple life one seashell at a time.

Mindless Delights

Crocheting my life away one stitch at a time.

