Teal Dragon Quilts

A world of Quilts and Dragons!

FFF Embroidery

on January 22, 2016

I have been trying to think of the word to blog about.  I was walking my dog, Freckles and Embroidery hit me.  This is a quilting, mostly blog and I will eventually get to Embroidery in my Thirst for knowledge.  Why not share my thoughts at this point in my journey about Embroidery?

Don’t know much about it, except it’s very pretty.  Hand vs. Machine.  Hand Embroidery was one of the first things I learned from my mother.  It was fun, but she wasn’t too impressed and then I got into music and that was that.  Let me explain, Mama thought I could have a neater back.  My thoughts were, why bother?  No one is supposed to look at the back.  I loved my mother dearly and miss her everyday, but teaching me her craft was not something we agreed upon.

I like hand embroidery and plan to use it when putting beads on some of my work….someday.  But for right now, it’s Machine.  I got my new Bernina 880 and was so excited.  I had an Embroidery machine!  So I tried it out.  Did pretty good, actually.

1st try

1st try

This is pretty cool. I love my machine.

2014-10-24 18.18.22 2014-10-19 12.05.20

2014-11-11 13.26.59

So I went a little crazy.  this was all done by just pushing buttons and giving it a whirl.  I was ready to REALLY learn how to embroider.  Then a friend asked me to do a baby quilt with the baby’s name embroidered on the quilt.  I said sure.  And with a little trial and error I was able to come up with a cute baby quilt.

Baby Quilt with Embroidered Name

Baby Quilt with Embroidered Name

SWEET!  Then life happened and I put the embroidery aside.  Then at the 2015 International Quilt Festival, I took a class called Combining quilting and embroidery.   Don’t ask me the teacher’s name.  No idea.  But she gave me an idea for a business model.  There are lots of people that have these fantastic machines that don’t know how to use them.  Well, my goal is to learn mine well enough to teach and lecture about it.  Will it happen?  Do I really want to travel to give lectures?  We will see.  I definitely am open to the possibilities.

Embroidered Name

Embroidered Name

Do you know how to use all the features on your machine?  Have you?  I would love to hear your tales.

God Bless!

2 responses to “FFF Embroidery

  1. I learned how to embroider from my grandmother. This brings me back. I should get back to it. I did some cross stitch in the 80’s but it wasn’t quite the same. I also had a messy back!

    • Teal Dragon says:

      I love cross stitch! I used to have so many patterns, and then one move hubby finally convinced me to ditch them. One of the worst decisions I made….And yes, you should get back to embroidery.

Leave a Reply

QuiltingNeeds.com

Where the Frugal Widow quilts, sews, cooks and lives

Solwhovian

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Rhonda Dort

..... Mostly about things I create...

Are You Thrilled

because the story must be told

Felicia's World

Quilts, Craft, Create

stuff southern people like

all manner of dixie delicacies and doo-dads

The Spirit of the Goddess

releasing the power of words

Scott Nagele

Read, write, and keep your day job

The Lonely Author

A quiet corner for writers to get inspired one word at a time.

SimplymeSMC

A StoRy of LiFe and MOre

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

VocareMentor.com

Walk With the Wise and Become Wise - Prov. 13:20

Angie Does Until She Doesn't

Library girl, knitting ninja, and lover of dogs searching for the simple life one seashell at a time.

Mindless Delights

Crocheting my life away one stitch at a time.

