Teal Dragon Quilts

A world of Quilts and Dragons!

TFK Automatic Buttonhole

on January 12, 2016

I was right!  The Automatic Buttonhole was easier to master than the Manual Buttonhole.  I must say I feel like the Cheshire cat, I’m so pleased with myself!  ha!

Supplies were basically the same except for the foot.  Bernina 3A.

Flannel, stabilizer and Bernina 3A Buttonhole foot

Flannel, stabilizer and Bernina 3A Buttonhole foot

Setup was the same.  I folded my flannel in half, pressed and inserted the stabilizer in-between.  I tried the marking line again, but that instruction makes no sense to me, so I did what I’m good at.  I winged it!

Here is a picture of my screen when I turn on the machine.

First screen when turn on machine

First screen when turn on machine

On the far right are the families of stitches.  Straight Stitch, Fancy Stitch, Alphabet, and there it is!  Buttonhole.  I touch that icon and voila’, a menu of buttonhole stitches.

Family of buttonhole stitches

Family of buttonhole stitches

Then there its that big “i”, well small but it’s quite large, hard to miss. I touch it and I get a language I do not understand.  Hieroglyphics, maybe?

What does all this mean?

What does all this mean?

At the bottom is the “man” icon.  We tried that one last week…yuck.  Wait, “REC”?  Isn’t that an abbreviation for record?  Let’s press that one.

REC appears on right side of my screen by picture of my presser foot!

REC appears on right side of my screen by picture of my presser foot!

The “REC” pops up over on the left by the picture of my pressure foot.

So now, I’m going to be brave and set my piece up and give it a whirl.  First try, meh, not too good, but I think I got it.  Second try, oops, I don’t got it.  Third try, I got it!

Place the red marker on the foot at the spot you want the buttonhole to stop.  Press AND Hold, (I usually forget that one) the foot free sewing button.  (I think it has another name, but too lazy to look it up!)  Once the machine starts going, you can release the button.  When the needle reaches the marker press that button again.  Don’t have to hold.  Now, this is how the magic happens.  Always remember to do this.  Press one time the reverse button. It’s just below the foot free button.  This is what tells the machine how far to stitch!  Now finish this button hole by pressing and holding the foot free button.  Once the machine starts you may let go.  The machine will stop when the buttonhole is complete!

Now move over a little bit. (the fabric) Press and hold that foot free button, release once machine starts.  Like magic you will have a second buttonhole, just like the first!

My buttonholes. (the ones in the middle of the two mess-ups.

My buttonholes. (the ones in the middle of the two mess-ups.

I snipped the centers to make the “holes”.  No one said anything about that.  Now I’m ready to finish that Snuggler!  I’ll let you know how it goes.

God Bless!

Leave a Reply

QuiltingNeeds.com

Where the Frugal Widow quilts, sews, cooks and lives

Solwhovian

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Rhonda Dort

..... Mostly about things I create...

Are You Thrilled

because the story must be told

Felicia's World

Quilts, Craft, Create

stuff southern people like

all manner of dixie delicacies and doo-dads

The Spirit of the Goddess

releasing the power of words

Scott Nagele

Read, write, and keep your day job

The Lonely Author

A quiet corner for writers to get inspired one word at a time.

simplymesmc.wordpress.com/

A StoRy of LiFe and MOre

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

VocareMentor.com

Walk With the Wise and Become Wise - Prov. 13:20

Angie Does Until She Doesn't

Library girl, knitting ninja, and lover of dogs searching for the simple life one seashell at a time.

Mindless Delights

Crocheting my life away one stitch at a time.

