Teal Dragon Quilts

A world of Quilts and Dragons!

Whoo Hoo Thursday!

on March 20, 2014

Hello friends,

Thursday is the day I’ve designated for miscellaneous posts and my day off.  But since I haven’t been posting everyday, we’ll call it lagniappe.

Susan Else and our kits!

Susan Else and our kits!

Susan’s lecture on Tuesday night was fun and filled with stories of her art and how she got to where she is today.  I fell in love with her Merry Go Round.  I also picked her up at the airport where we had the adventure of lost luggage….You are probably familiar.  Anyway the luggage did arrive and was delivered to her.  Happy ending.

I’ve never considered myself as an “artist”.  You know, the ones who paint, sculpt, make art quilts.  I am a musician and quilting has given me a visual outlet that I can hold on to instead of just having a memory or recording of a great concert.  So I’ve always toyed with the idea of using quilting as art, but I REALLY enjoy making quilts and seeing the joy they bring to the recipients.

Well, this sculpting with fabric has opened a new window and I think I might climb through.  I have visions of fabric sculpted dragons, one being teal, of course, and bringing my favorite Sci Fantasy to life.  I’ve never been able to draw to my liking, though my sketches look better after a little time has passed…the same with my recordings.  I guess I am just too self critical.

There's me playing Sculptor! My pieces to sculpt The tree of my sculpted piece Here I am working on my sculpture and the tree.  There will be leaves, flowers and a vine added.  I hope to finish with the leaves this weekend.

Thanks, for stopping by and may your journey be filled with fun twists!

Happy Quilting, Mary

5 responses to “Whoo Hoo Thursday!

  1. Arlene C says:

    Looks like you had fun Mary! You are so creative this is just the begining. I see a teal dragon carosel in your future!

    • Teal Dragon says:

      Thanks, Donella and Arlene. It was fun. That would be really cool to have a dragon carousel. Mechanics is not my thing tho, maybe I could get my husband to help! 🙂

  2. Donella says:

    Looks like you had fun

  3. cissa k says:

    Mary, I love what you have done so far. Thanks for sharing. I can’t wait to see it.

Leave a Reply

QuiltingNeeds.com

Where the Frugal Widow quilts, sews, cooks and lives

Solwhovian

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Rhonda Dort

..... Mostly about things I create...

Are You Thrilled

because the story must be told

Felicia's World

Quilts, Craft, Create

stuff southern people like

all manner of dixie delicacies and doo-dads

The Spirit of the Goddess

releasing the power of words

Scott Nagele

Read, write, and keep your day job

The Lonely Author

A quiet corner for writers to get inspired one word at a time.

simplymesmc.wordpress.com/

A StoRy of LiFe and MOre

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

VocareMentor.com

Walk With the Wise and Become Wise - Prov. 13:20

Angie Does Until She Doesn't

Library girl, knitting ninja, and lover of dogs searching for the simple life one seashell at a time.

Mindless Delights

Crocheting my life away one stitch at a time.

