Teal Dragon Quilts

A world of Quilts and Dragons!

Technique Tuesday

on March 4, 2014

Happy Mardi Gras, friends!

Happy Mardi Gras!Have you ever made a King Cake?  It’s pretty fun and maybe in 2015 I will give it another try.  I do have a beaded headdress that I wear on Fat Tuesday.  It’s really cool.  It’s another yucky day here in Houston and yesterday was so pretty.  Oh well, Spring is on the way.

I did some little bitty one inch squares for a baby quilt and discovered I still have a LONG way to go for accuracy.  I cut 1 1/2″ strips, sewed them together into a 4 piece strip set. (4 strips sewn together) and then cut them at 1 1/2″.  Mix them up and sew together.Postage StampsYou can see they are a little wonky.  My problem is I keep going from a 1/4″ to a scant 1/4″.  I know where the scant 1/4″ is on my machine, but the 1/4″ is a little more illusive.  I’m still not sewing straight and curving out or in on the seam line makes a huge difference in these 1″ squares.  Maybe I’ll try the technique my friend uses with her granddaughters.  Sew on lined paper without thread.

Here’s my plan, cut more 1 1/2″ strips, cut them in half, warm up on the lined paper, ( you thought I was kidding?)  Well it will show me where I’m crooking and maybe I’ll discover why.  Then sew another batch of strip sets.

I’ve been working on my action folder and decluttering, so much that I excluded sewing time, so I’m forcing myself to back off the next actions that are not quilting related and pick a few that are.  It seems to be working.  I feel better balanced.  My daily activities are still taking up a large portion of my day, as is my practicing for my next concert which is Sunday!  I still have to put out a few fires, but I’m getting better at getting things done in advance.

Thanks for stopping by and good luck with your Accuracy Quest!

Happy Quilting, Mary

Leave a Reply

QuiltingNeeds.com

Where the Frugal Widow quilts, sews, cooks and lives

Solwhovian

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Rhonda Dort

..... Mostly about things I create...

Are You Thrilled

because the story must be told

Felicia's World

Quilts, Craft, Create

stuff southern people like

all manner of dixie delicacies and doo-dads

The Spirit of the Goddess

releasing the power of words

Scott Nagele

Read, write, and keep your day job

The Lonely Author

A quiet corner for writers to get inspired one word at a time.

SimplymeSMC

A StoRy of LiFe and MOre

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

VocareMentor.com

Walk With the Wise and Become Wise - Prov. 13:20

Angie Does Until She Doesn't

Library girl, knitting ninja, and lover of dogs searching for the simple life one seashell at a time.

Mindless Delights

Crocheting my life away one stitch at a time.

