Teal Dragon Quilts

A world of Quilts and Dragons!

Technique Tuesday

on February 11, 2014

Hello friends,

Here in Houston, Texas it is COLD.  I know, I know, nothing like what the north gets, but we are used to Tropical weather.  It’s one of the reasons we live in Houston.  Now my husband is ready to pack us off closer to the equator.  I’m hoping for warmer weather, soon.

I was thinking about what to post first in Technique.  There are so many to choose.  But then, I looked to my journey, and I am on a quest for better accuracy.  Those who know me, know I have my father’s philosophy…”Close?  Nail it!”  Well, that’s all fine and good unless you want to market and sell your work.  I wouldn’t want to pay top dollar for points that are cut off, would you?  Probably not.

The 1/4 inch.  The scant 1/4 inch.  The smaller the piece, the more important to be accurate.  Consistency is good.  Right now, mine goes from 1/4 inch to scant.  Very seldom is my seam too wide.  So how do you find your 1/4 inch?  Cut 2 different fabric strips at 2 1/2″.  Sew 1/4″ seam.  If your strips now measure 4 1/2″, you got it.  Each strip should measure 2 1/4″ from the middle.  If it doesn’t measure the right size, do some snooping.  Are you using a 1/4″ foot? Are you sewing on the 1/4″ line on your sewing machine?  There are all kinds of tools available to find the 1/4″ on your machine.  Also is your sewing line straight?  I found that when I cut the strips, some worked great and others did not.  My seam was crooked…Now I will check the sewing line, rip out the crook and resew it straight.

Amy’s Creative Side has a great tutorial.  If your piece is not 4 1/2″, try this tutorial. It is well worth the little bit of time it takes.  She suggest you press your seams open.  I do press my seams open.  My pieces seem to be more accurate than when I press the seams to one side.  That tells me I’m not pressing correctly, but that technique is for another day.

I have a friend whose piecing is so precise, she rarely has to “square up” anything.  She doesn’t have to “fudge”, and she never has to “ease”.  She believes if it’s not right rip it out and do it again, it’s only going to get worse.  My philosophy is, it’s your quilt.  As long as you love it, that’s all that matters.  Mistakes are really hard to see, especially on that galloping horse.  I quilt to have fun, I am just getting started on trying to turn it into a business.  The accuracy quest is to make putting a quilt together easier in the long run.

Hope you will join me on my journey!

Thanks for stopping by.  Happy Quilting, Mary

Leave a Reply

QuiltingNeeds.com

Where the Frugal Widow quilts, sews, cooks and lives

Solwhovian

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Rhonda Dort

..... Mostly about things I create...

Are You Thrilled

because the story must be told

Felicia's World

Quilts, Craft, Create

stuff southern people like

all manner of dixie delicacies and doo-dads

The Spirit of the Goddess

releasing the power of words

Scott Nagele

Read, write, and keep your day job

The Lonely Author

A quiet corner for writers to get inspired one word at a time.

simplymesmc.wordpress.com/

A StoRy of LiFe and MOre

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

VocareMentor.com

Walk With the Wise and Become Wise - Prov. 13:20

Angie Does Until She Doesn't

Library girl, knitting ninja, and lover of dogs searching for the simple life one seashell at a time.

Mindless Delights

Crocheting my life away one stitch at a time.

