Teal Dragon Quilts

A world of Quilts and Dragons!

Storytelling Monday

on February 10, 2014

Everyone likes stories, right?  I know I do and my parents were fantastic story tellers.  I’m not sure they passed their abilities to me, but I do love to tell and hear good stories.  Today, I will tell you a story about a little girl who became a Quilter!

A LONG time ago in Louisiana, there was a little girl who was allergic to wool.  So her great aunts got together with their friends and made quilts for this sweet little girl.  Her momma may have contributed the tops to be quilted with scraps from dresses the little girl outgrew.  The little girl really loved these quilts.  She used them on her bed and on rainy days, she made tunnels to crawl through.  She always wanted to stay with her great aunts and learn how to quilt.  But alas, that was not to be.

So she turned to music for a while and used her creativity to make music.  Eventually, she found her knight in shiny armor and they went off to the Great White North, also known as Canada.  She met a friend who had all kinds of quilty things displayed throughout her apartment.  Her friend was kind enough to show her how.  The young woman LOVED this new craft.  She went to the quilt shop, purchased fabric and worked on learning the craft by hand.  She and her friend would spend afternoons sewing and chatting.

Her friend was to return to the South and the young woman was left to her own devices.  She quickly signed up for a quilting class at the local quilt shop.  She would load her machine in her trusty cart and walk across the bridge to Kensington where the shop was located.

The sweet little girl had grown into a woman and her dream of learning to quilt finally came true.  The end.  Moral of the story, never give up on your dreams!

Mary, my quilting teacher

Mary, my quilting teacher

This is Mary, my quilting teacher.  She was super nice, and I wish I could remember her complete name.

Class mates for beginning quilting

Class mates for beginning quilting

These are my class mates in my Beginning Quilting Class.  We did an Irish Chain.  I was hooked on Quilting!

My first machine sewn quilt!

My first machine sewn quilt!

And this is me with my first quilt!  Pretty amazing, eh?

I will save the story of my first quilt for another day….

Thanks for stopping by, happy quilting, Mary

One response to “Storytelling Monday

  1. […] do not know if Grandma Flannagan quilted, but her daughters are the ones who made the quilts I grew up […]

Leave a Reply

QuiltingNeeds.com

Where the Frugal Widow quilts, sews, cooks and lives

Solwhovian

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Rhonda Dort

..... Mostly about things I create...

Are You Thrilled

because the story must be told

Felicia's World

Quilts, Craft, Create

stuff southern people like

all manner of dixie delicacies and doo-dads

The Spirit of the Goddess

releasing the power of words

Scott Nagele

Read, write, and keep your day job

The Lonely Author

A quiet corner for writers to get inspired one word at a time.

simplymesmc.wordpress.com/

A StoRy of LiFe and MOre

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

VocareMentor.com

Walk With the Wise and Become Wise - Prov. 13:20

Angie Does Until She Doesn't

Library girl, knitting ninja, and lover of dogs searching for the simple life one seashell at a time.

Mindless Delights

Crocheting my life away one stitch at a time.

