Teal Dragon Quilts

A world of Quilts and Dragons!

Inspiration Sunday

on February 9, 2014
Pelicans

Pelicans

Pelicans have inspired me since I was a Louisiana gal.  Never saw one in the wild until I moved to Texas.  Their flight is so graceful, in a line, use a minimum amount of movement. One day, I will do a quilt to honor the pelicans.

What has inspired my journey of organization, finishing and getting things done?  I got started.  That is what has inspired me.  I got one spot in my studio organized, so I moved to the next one.  Ever heard don’t make a clean spot?  Same mentality.  A clean, shiny sink will go a long way in motivating a clean house.  Not that I’m a “neat freak”.  Check out Fly Lady.  She has helped me declutter my house before.  She helps those of us not so organized to be better at being prepared for the day and clearing the clutter of our lives in 15 minute increments.

There was an old sewing machine ad that made Facebook last week.  Don’t know if it was a true ad, didn’t check it out on Snopes.  It was funny.  It was about having the dishes washed before sitting down to sew.  Being well dressed, in case your husband came home.  Right, who thinks like that nowadays?  Well, I’m one for spur of the moment, leave the house, let’s go shopping type person.  But you know, sometimes…sometimes those dirty dishes, that messy room, all that STUFF, crowd out my creativity.

I didn’t realize how much happier I could be until I got my studio in shape.  Now I wake and am excited about the day, I’m not pushing my puppy away, telling him to go back to sleep, it’s too early!  So if this is just one room, imagine the possibilities when my whole house is done!

It’s not that everything has to be in order for my creative juices to flow, it’s more that I know that all that other stuff will get done.  I have a plan, it’s not a chore that I’m dreading doing, I know the next action to take on all the “clutter”.  Check out David Allen and his book Getting Things Done.

Thanks for stopping by, happy quilting, Mary

Leave a Reply

QuiltingNeeds.com

Where the Frugal Widow quilts, sews, cooks and lives

Solwhovian

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Rhonda Dort

..... Mostly about things I create...

Are You Thrilled

because the story must be told

Felicia's World

Quilts, Craft, Create

stuff southern people like

all manner of dixie delicacies and doo-dads

The Spirit of the Goddess

releasing the power of words

Scott Nagele

Read, write, and keep your day job

The Lonely Author

A quiet corner for writers to get inspired one word at a time.

SimplymeSMC

A StoRy of LiFe and MOre

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

VocareMentor.com

Walk With the Wise and Become Wise - Prov. 13:20

Angie Does Until She Doesn't

Library girl, knitting ninja, and lover of dogs searching for the simple life one seashell at a time.

Mindless Delights

Crocheting my life away one stitch at a time.

