Teal Dragon Quilts

A world of Quilts and Dragons!

UFO Saturday

on February 8, 2014

Hello friends,

Welcome to UFO Saturday.  I haven’t counted my UFO’s, but I think I have in the triple digits.  There are a variety of definitions of what a UFO is.  My definition is a bit broader than most.  Of course, it’s a project started, then set aside for some reason.  But it’s also that fabric I bought to go with a pattern I bought.  Even though the pattern is unopened in the physical world, in my mind it is a project that I set aside for some reason.  I did an action of buying fabric, so the project is started.  Stashbusters on Yahoo describes a UFO as one where the quilter has cut the fabric to start the project.

I do have a plan to count my UFO’s.  The UFO’s I am working on for the year are at my weekend home.  I have 12 UFO’s picked out to complete in 2014.  I don’t have a finish for January, but I do have a quilt that is ready to quilt and that will be done on Monday, when I can use my friend’s Sweet 16.  This quilt was given to me and I don’t know who was the maker.  Some of it was paper pieced and I had to pull the paper out.  Then I basted it and now it’s ready to quilt.

I’m working on a block of the month that is from 2003, maybe.  I started with 2 friends.  One is no longer here and one moved to Colorado.  So this one is stirring up some memories.

Block of the month 2

Block of the month 2

Block of the Month

Block of the Month

Block of the month in progress

Block of the month in progress

Tessellating Stars is a class that was offered by my guild.  I took this class maybe in 2007?  Such a challenge to remember when I started a project.  I’ve started putting a year on the pattern, or in my notes on the quilt I am currently working, just in case it becomes another UFO!

Tessellating Stars

Tessellating Stars

I also am working on a Montana Cartwheel that was started in 2002 or 2003.  A mystery quilt that was started about the same time.  A T-shirt quilt for a cousin.  It’s ready to be quilted on Monday, as well.  A Big Shirt pattern which I finally have all the tools I need to make this one.  Texas Two Step is another class I took that was offered by my  guild.  One year I took 10 workshops and that created 10 UFO’s.  You get the idea.

Luckily, I am looking forward to this finishing journey.  I still love all my UFO’s and all of my fabric.  The problem is there is NEW fabric that I love, too.  I am running out of space to store fabric.

Fabric Storage

Fabric Storage

Fabric Storage in closet

Fabric Storage in closet

I squeezed a little more room for more fabric!

I squeezed a little more room for more fabric!

My drawers are full!

Thanks for stopping by.  Happy Quilting, Mary

Leave a Reply

QuiltingNeeds.com

Where the Frugal Widow quilts, sews, cooks and lives

Solwhovian

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Rhonda Dort

..... Mostly about things I create...

Are You Thrilled

because the story must be told

Felicia's World

Quilts, Craft, Create

stuff southern people like

all manner of dixie delicacies and doo-dads

The Spirit of the Goddess

releasing the power of words

Scott Nagele

Read, write, and keep your day job

The Lonely Author

A quiet corner for writers to get inspired one word at a time.

simplymesmc.wordpress.com/

A StoRy of LiFe and MOre

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

VocareMentor.com

Walk With the Wise and Become Wise - Prov. 13:20

Angie Does Until She Doesn't

Library girl, knitting ninja, and lover of dogs searching for the simple life one seashell at a time.

Mindless Delights

Crocheting my life away one stitch at a time.

