Teal Dragon Quilts

A world of Quilts and Dragons!

Friday Lookback

on February 7, 2014

Hello Friends,

Hope you are looking forward to the weekend.  On Fridays, I will take a moment to look back where I have been.  This could be a week, a month, a year or years.  Today, I’m looking back to the start of 2014.  Like so many years past, I have big plans and goals.  I write them down, I plan how I will implement them, and then hello February and welcome to life.  Plans get blown away.

But this year something different happened.  I read a book by David Allen.  Getting Things Done.  Another organizational book, yea, I’ve read tons of those in hopes of finding the “secret”.  Well David stresses “What’s the next action?”  What needs to be done to move this project or task forward?  If it takes more than one action, then it is a project.  Big are small, he instructs his readers to “collect” everything bouncing around in his/her brain and place in an “in” box.   My “in box” is the top of my desk.  I filled it full.  Whatever I thought of, I wrote on a sheet of paper and placed it in my “in box”.  I went thru my studio.  If something was not where it was going to stay, I put it in my “in box”.

Now the fun begins.  You gotta go thru that “in box” and process everything.  Oh Boy.  Well, really all you have to do is figure out the “next action” that will move it to completion.  Ok.  Here’s a simple one.  Dry Cleaning.  What’s the next action?  It’s already in a pile on my cedar chest.  The next action is get it to my truck!  So once the clothes are in my truck, this goes in the “Errand” folder.  When I’m out and drive by the Dry Cleaners, guess what, yep, dry cleaning is in the truck, ready to drop off.

I kept going, never putting any piece of paper or item back in the “in box”.  There are other folders to help you out.  A tickler works great and I added a few folders.  My Beach House, WIP’s, UFO’s and What’s inside my head.  I think I will add a What’s in the bag for all the projects I’ve put in a bag and stuffed in the top of my closet!

I did reach the bottom of my “in box” and “giddy” is the best word to describe how I felt.  Rejuvenated, sure.  Powerful, you betcha!  Proud, yes indeedy!

David does not separate the different aspects of your life, and I didn’t either.  Whether, I have work to do for the real estate agent I work with, work for my husband, or something I want to do for myself, it still needs to be done.  They all go to the “in” box to be processed.

Then, you have to actually “do”.  But I was so excited that I knew what needed “doing” for all the stuff cluttering my head, that it was easy to go ahead and “get things done”!

I also did this for my email.  Wow, no more searching for that email that came in who knows when.  It’s been processed and I know what the next action is.

If you want to check David Allen out here is his website.  http://www.davidco.com

Thanks for stopping by.  Happy Quilting, Mary

Leave a Reply

QuiltingNeeds.com

Where the Frugal Widow quilts, sews, cooks and lives

Solwhovian

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Rhonda Dort

..... Mostly about things I create...

Are You Thrilled

because the story must be told

Felicia's World

Quilts, Craft, Create

stuff southern people like

all manner of dixie delicacies and doo-dads

The Spirit of the Goddess

releasing the power of words

Scott Nagele

Read, write, and keep your day job

The Lonely Author

A quiet corner for writers to get inspired one word at a time.

simplymesmc.wordpress.com/

A StoRy of LiFe and MOre

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

VocareMentor.com

Walk With the Wise and Become Wise - Prov. 13:20

Angie Does Until She Doesn't

Library girl, knitting ninja, and lover of dogs searching for the simple life one seashell at a time.

Mindless Delights

Crocheting my life away one stitch at a time.

