Teal Dragon Quilts

A world of Quilts and Dragons!

Quilting Motifs – Roses

on November 28, 2012

Roses are my favorite flower and I saw a rose motif over at Lea Day’s 365 + Designs and I started practicing on my sketch pad.  The first attempts looked cartoonish to me, like something out of the Grinch stories.  Friends helped me to see what I needed to do to calm the design down.

It was starting to look more like Leah’s design.  So I did a couple of pages of roses, but still I did not feel ready to quilt in a quilt, especially the one this design is for.

Project got set aside, then I started working on charity quilts and thought, great place to practice the rose motif!  Talked to a friend and she had a continuos rose motif as well.  To me it looked more like the flower, so I borrowed her copy and went back to the sketch pad. It took a while to get the hang of it.  I was struggling and getting frustrated.

So, I thought, if I could just figure out how to do one, then I could worry about connecting with a continuous line. Voile La!  It worked.  Then I worked on a page adding the continuous lines and I felt ready to put it with a quilt.

The quilt is quilted and I feel ready to work on the quilt that was made for this design!

How do you work thru your quilting dilemmas?

Leave a Reply

QuiltingNeeds.com

Where the Frugal Widow quilts, sews, cooks and lives

Solwhovian

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Rhonda Dort

..... Mostly about things I create...

Are You Thrilled

because the story must be told

Felicia's World

Quilts, Craft, Create

stuff southern people like

all manner of dixie delicacies and doo-dads

The Spirit of the Goddess

releasing the power of words

Scott Nagele

Read, write, and keep your day job

The Lonely Author

A quiet corner for writers to get inspired one word at a time.

simplymesmc.wordpress.com/

A StoRy of LiFe and MOre

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

VocareMentor.com

Walk With the Wise and Become Wise - Prov. 13:20

Angie Does Until She Doesn't

Library girl, knitting ninja, and lover of dogs searching for the simple life one seashell at a time.

Mindless Delights

Crocheting my life away one stitch at a time.

