Teal Dragon Quilts

A world of Quilts and Dragons!

Teal Dragon Quilts

on May 21, 2012

I’m researching starting an online business.  It’s kind of learn as I go.  My husband the engineer, is like plan, plan, plan…and then plan some more.  I’m a little more free style.  Of course, he did light the fire for me to finally launch my website.  Please visit and let me know what you think.  www.everythingmarylou.com

Today in my research, I discovered a Bloggers Quilt Festival.  Sounds pretty cool.  The quilt I am choosing to enter is one I did for my dear friend and conductor when he retired from the Lake Charles Symphony in Louisiana.

Made to show appreciation for the work of Bill Kushner as conductor of the Lake Charles Symphony.

It is black, white and red.  I used Lori’s Batik Puzzle pattern from The Melon Block by Elisa Wilson.  It was a new technique for me, for I had never done a melon block before, but the templates made it fairly easy to build.  I had a sizable stash of Black and White fabric, including several yards with a music theme.

I was really excited to do this quilt, number one, because the recipient was one of my favorite people, and number two, I had been wanting to do a black and white quilt with a touch of red.  This one ended up with more than a touch of red, but I was very pleased with the result.

The backing is red with sheet music printed on it.  I had the musicians of the orchestra sign some 81/2″ x 11″ sheets of fabric, which I then appliquéd to the back of the quilt.  The center photo is a picture that had been on the Lake Charles Symphony music programs for several years.  It is a picture of the conductor from the back, how an audience would see him in a performance.

Photo of Mr. K surrounded by well wishes from his musicians.From this experience I learned I can accomplish great things when I put my mind to it.  I love making quilts for others.  I think it is the seed that started me on the road to having a custom quilting biz.

So the Bloggers Quilt Festival voting starts tomorrow.  http://amyscreativeside.com/bloggers-quilt-festival/

Check it out and vote for your favorite!

8 responses to “Teal Dragon Quilts

  1. sharkgrrl says:

    The b&w + red makes for a stunning quilt– and seems to fit perfectly in a music theme. I love how you personalized the back in such a creative way as well. Thanks so much for sharing!

  2. sharkgrrl says:

    The b&w + red makes for a very striking quilt– and it seems to fit so perfectly with a music theme. I love how you personalized the back too. Very creative, and very special!

  3. That ninch! says:

    Wow! That is a great quilt! Is indeed true that we can do anything we set our minds to. Best wishes growing your business! 🙂

    Hazle
    suntred02 @ aol.com

    • MaryV says:

      Thanks. I am having fun with my biz. Loved your quilt, Hazel! Great UFO Finish. Do you know about Stashbusters on Yahoo? I’ve finished 2 UFO’s and, my goal is 6 for 2012. It’s a fun motivator. Mary

  4. nitadances says:

    A lovely gift! I, too play music, so many creative outlets!

  5. citricsugar says:

    It’s a beautiful quilt!

    Just to let you know, your link currently goes to the pic and not the blog entry.

Leave a Reply

QuiltingNeeds.com

Where the Frugal Widow quilts, sews, cooks and lives

Solwhovian

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Rhonda Dort

..... Mostly about things I create...

Are You Thrilled

because the story must be told

Felicia's World

Quilts, Craft, Create

stuff southern people like

all manner of dixie delicacies and doo-dads

The Spirit of the Goddess

releasing the power of words

Scott Nagele

Read, write, and keep your day job

The Lonely Author

A quiet corner for writers to get inspired one word at a time.

simplymesmc.wordpress.com/

A StoRy of LiFe and MOre

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

VocareMentor.com

Walk With the Wise and Become Wise - Prov. 13:20

Angie Does Until She Doesn't

Library girl, knitting ninja, and lover of dogs searching for the simple life one seashell at a time.

Mindless Delights

Crocheting my life away one stitch at a time.

