Teal Dragon Quilts

A world of Quilts and Dragons!

Living in the Moment

on May 9, 2012

So taxes are done, now what? What’s my next big project? I am entering a huge database for the person I work with in Real Estate. Not very exciting, believe me I KNOW. Hopefully the rewards of new clients will be worth it.

I joined a group on Yahoo called Stashbusters. http://www.stashbusters.com.  Within that group is UFO (unfinished object) Challenge. I’ve challenged myself to finish 6 UFO’s. I only have about 100, not an exaggeration! But it’s a start and I have finished one and am close to finishing #2! All that’s left is Binding and Label.  I am finishing it this week while we vacation in Galveston.

Yesterday afternoon, I played my last concert of the season for the Pasadena Philharmonic Orchestra.  It went really well.  My concentration level was so high.  That’s when I feel great about my playing.  Wish I could bottle it and bring it out every concert.  I was “in the moment”.  Felt wonderful, helps me remember why I play.

So to make this happen, is what I need to figure out.  I think knowing the part really well is important.  Not focusing on the technique leaves the brain room to focus on the “in the moment”.  Or relieves the stress of worrying about falling apart.  Whatever it is, my brain is free to hear what is going on in the orchestra, what my section is doing, and keep that eagle eye out for the conductor.

It is a glorious feeling and you just know you did well.  Now that I look back on yesterday’s concert and others that I have had that intense concentration level, I know I knew my part extremely well.  I guess that means I need to spend more time in the “woodshed”.  Reminds me of Mr. D, my first teacher.  He would say take that part home and woodshed.

I just read a blog by Tom Sterner. http://bit.ly/JxKXDL

It describes how I feel in a concert that has my intense concentration.  Cool.

I know this post has been rambling, but that’s kind of what I’m going through.

Thanks for reading and God bless you!

Leave a Reply

QuiltingNeeds.com

Where the Frugal Widow quilts, sews, cooks and lives

Solwhovian

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Rhonda Dort

..... Mostly about things I create...

Are You Thrilled

because the story must be told

Felicia's World

Quilts, Craft, Create

stuff southern people like

all manner of dixie delicacies and doo-dads

The Spirit of the Goddess

releasing the power of words

Scott Nagele

Read, write, and keep your day job

The Lonely Author

A quiet corner for writers to get inspired one word at a time.

SimplymeSMC

A StoRy of LiFe and MOre

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

VocareMentor.com

Walk With the Wise and Become Wise - Prov. 13:20

Angie Does Until She Doesn't

Library girl, knitting ninja, and lover of dogs searching for the simple life one seashell at a time.

Mindless Delights

Crocheting my life away one stitch at a time.

