Teal Dragon Quilts

A world of Quilts and Dragons!

How are your resolutions?

on February 2, 2011

Here it is the 1st of the month.  There has been a little over 31 days to put resolutions/goals into action.  Mine are not going well.

1.  Post on my blog at least once a week.   This one is actually fun and I have been successful.  I do find I think of things during the week, but when it comes time to put it to “paper”, the idea is gone.  So to tweak this, I want to keep a notebook of my blog ideas.  Might be easier to use my smart phone than actual pen and paper.

2.  Lose 20 pounds.  This is another that’s going well.  I’ve lost 2 pounds, but it does fluctuate.  Walk every day, Swim twice a week, Bring “real” food for lunch 4 times a week.  I am walking most days.  I did fall once and hurt my leg, but it seems to be doing fine.  My goal is to start the swimming next week after my Lake Charles gig is done.  Bringing “real” food is a challenge.  I am always rushing out the door.  So, maybe I should tweak this to “gather what is going to work the night before.”

3. Sell 20 quilts in my quilting business.  This one is not going well at all!  But again I will blame it on my gig coming up.  I get so stressed about playing my part perfectly, even though I know that is an impossibility.  Most of my free time is spent practicing, and “resting” from the practice.  I take Advil and wear a brace to help my right arm recoup from the practice.  (this topic is for another post.)

Goals: Quilt 9 quilts ready to go, Build website to advertise, blog about quilting, Send emails about my quilting business to family and friends.  Have not done any of this….something to work for!

4.  Take classes at International Quilt Festival.  This one will work out.  My income has improved and I should be able to take at least one class this year!

5.  Learn Latin.  Well I have the book, and for a while I was gung ho.  Again, I will blame the upcoming gig.

Now that I have blamed every failure on the upcoming gig.  My objective for music is:  Reduce the stress I feel from music gigs.  That’s a big one, believe me.  My goal is: 1. Practice music early.  I’ve tried this, but not with much success.  Usually I start really practicing hard 2 weeks before the gig.  And that is practice, rest, practice, go to office, come home, practice, rest, practice, do a house chore, practice, another house chore…you get the idea.  Some of the issue is not getting the music until 2 weeks before the concert.  Goal 2. Find music performing before part is mailed.

Anyway, I’ve been too long from the practice part of the day, so thanks for reading and I’ll let you know how the concert went next week!

Blessings!

One response to “How are your resolutions?

  1. ivoryspring says:

    Looks like you are doing really well so far!

Leave a Reply

QuiltingNeeds.com

Where the Frugal Widow quilts, sews, cooks and lives

Solwhovian

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Rhonda Dort

..... Mostly about things I create...

Are You Thrilled

because the story must be told

Felicia's World

Quilts, Craft, Create

stuff southern people like

all manner of dixie delicacies and doo-dads

The Spirit of the Goddess

releasing the power of words

Scott Nagele

Read, write, and keep your day job

The Lonely Author

A quiet corner for writers to get inspired one word at a time.

SimplymeSMC

A StoRy of LiFe and MOre

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

VocareMentor.com

Walk With the Wise and Become Wise - Prov. 13:20

Angie Does Until She Doesn't

Library girl, knitting ninja, and lover of dogs searching for the simple life one seashell at a time.

Mindless Delights

Crocheting my life away one stitch at a time.

