Teal Dragon Quilts

A world of Quilts and Dragons!

Real Estate

on December 15, 2010

Since I link this blog to my Houston Association of REALTORS blog, I figure I need to talk a little real estate every so often.  I will not lie to you, the market is tough right now.  Even though this will cut into my paycheck, if you don’t have to sell, and you want to make the money you would have in the past, don’t sell.  But wait, now might be a good time to upgrade, or find that investment property.  IMHO, sellers are not wanting to drop their prices and buyers are looking for the “steal of the century”.

As agents we are taught to find the happy middle.  Everyone walks from the closing table, happy.  That’s really tough right now.  My advice, if you want to sell, have realistic expectations, you will not get what you paid for the house.  But if you have enough equity, you may walk away with some extra cash.

If you are a buyer, put 20% down, learn from this market.  You may think your job is secure, but can you really be sure?  You may be healthy, but you never know what tomorrow brings.  Save like crazy to get the 20% down.  Be patient, when you are ready there will be a house for you.

That’s my 2 cents.  It is just my opinion and I don’t claim to have all the answers or know all the questions.  If you need an agent, give me a call, I will do my best to help you buy or sell.  I will give you the truth and not sugar coat it to suit your needs.  Another thing we are taught as agents:  Someone asks, “what’s the market like?” (everyone asks this, if they know you are an agent.  It’s kinda like asking, how’s the weather?)  As agents we are taught to respond, “Are you buying or selling?”  We can “spin” it anyway necessary.  I promise, not to “spin”.

I work pretty much anywhere in the Houston area.  I’ve sold a house in League City, I’ve done several transactions in Katy.  I’ve shown property in Conroe.  So, if we work well together, it matters not where you are.

Hope you’ve enjoyed this post.  If you’ve read the others, you can probably tell that Real Estate is not my first passion, hehehe.  Find me on FB, send me a “tweet” (@MaryLouVan) or visit my website. (www.marylouvan.com).  Currently, it is generic, but I am working on making it more personal.

Have a Blessed day and God loves you!

2 responses to “Real Estate

  1. Il semble que vous soyez un expert dans ce domaine, vos remarques sont tres interessantes, merci.

    – Daniel

Leave a Reply

QuiltingNeeds.com

Where the Frugal Widow quilts, sews, cooks and lives

Solwhovian

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Rhonda Dort

..... Mostly about things I create...

Are You Thrilled

because the story must be told

Felicia's World

Quilts, Craft, Create

stuff southern people like

all manner of dixie delicacies and doo-dads

The Spirit of the Goddess

releasing the power of words

Scott Nagele

Read, write, and keep your day job

The Lonely Author

A quiet corner for writers to get inspired one word at a time.

SimplymeSMC

A StoRy of LiFe and MOre

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

VocareMentor.com

Walk With the Wise and Become Wise - Prov. 13:20

Angie Does Until She Doesn't

Library girl, knitting ninja, and lover of dogs searching for the simple life one seashell at a time.

Mindless Delights

Crocheting my life away one stitch at a time.

